I’m Baaaaack!

I have indeed neglected this a bit, but just take it as no news is good news. Seriously have been downright busy this past month. December just about flew by as I moved in with my new host family. Took my first real trip to Senegal to celebrate New Year’s Eve in the absolutely aaaaamazing fishing town of San Luis. Swam to my hearts content. Then I was back in Nouakchott for ETR/IST where I was able to eat to my hearts content. I think I had at least one type of ice cream everyday. Mmmmm.

I’m actually really glad to be back in Aleg. It’s fun to be away, but I’m finding out, I like spending time with my Mauritanian friends just as much as the other volunteers if not more sometimes.

Today I definitely got back into the groove of things. I met with the director of the Condition Feminine of Aleg to discuss the updates of a project that I will submit for funding this week. It’s to establish a coiffure salon/school for the Women of Aleg who have no job and are not pursuing further education. I’d guesstimate that to be easily 3/4ths of the population. The project falls under the AGR act, put forth by the Mauritanian Promotion Feminine. AGR breaks down to: activities generating revenue for women in Mauritania. I have a good feeling about it, because a couture project put forth by a volunteer back in 2005 is still thriving. It’s also a pilot program for Peace Corps–aka no other project like it has been attempted yet in Mauritania–that’s been recorded at least. Anyway, I’ll definitely post updates, but after meeting different Mauritanian women about it, I’m pretty stoked. Plus–maybe I’ll be able to get my hair done for free for the rest of my service. ;-P

I came back home for lunch, and lucked out with Rice and Fish, which is quickly growing to be one of my favorite meals here. Tomorrow I’m going to my neighbor Mbourel’s house to eat it with her, as she says, unless I’ve tried it Senegalese style, I haven’t tried Rice with Fish.

After lunch and tea I mosied over to Zeinabou’s copy shop and chilled and taught her how to inventory items using Excel. I just inventorized everything in the GMC, including all the books. It’s so damn neat and organized now. =D I also made books of lessons in French and Arabic for computer classes I’ll be teaching at least three times a week to some of the older women in Aleg.

Once Zeinabou got off at 6pm, she told me a freind of hers wanted to meet me again. (I supposedly had met her breifly in passing before and she was intrigued by the nasara).  So we went to her house, she’s probably 16 at the oldest and has a newborn baby. I just pretty much sat with them for maybe 5 minutes before we left. In that time though, she decided she liked me and wanted me back next weekend for dinner and hanging out. Mauritanians…

I stopped by the Regional House on my way home because I saw Dave in the streets (he just got back from a vacation home) and rumor was he brought mountains of cheese back and brown sugar for me. He said that the Pulaar Family, Kelly Belly’s family, was having an invitation tonight.

We went, and it was awesome. Pulaar celebrations, and customs, and culture, are soooooo sweet.  Before eating, the women turned over the tin bowls and started pounding away at a beat that when danced to, created such a colorful rhythmic explosion under an almost full moon. I even got up and danced to the drumming, who’s beat I’m too musically challenged to figure out. I’ve kind of given up all inhibitions when it comes to making a fool out of myself, cause I didn’t come all the way to Africa not to be totally out of my skin, sort to say.

What else can I update on. I feel a difference in my language ability. I understand at least some of every conversation I happen upon, and sometimes every single word and part of speech of some.

I now have internet at the GMC. YESSSSSSSSSSSS. This definitely means more consistent posting. (Inshallah)

And lastly, but probably most importantly, thank you soooooo sooooo sooooo much for everything that has been sent my way, be it packages, or letters, or emails, or even quick posts on my wall or comments. The love and support never gets old and is constantly an extra boost.

Peace Out.

xo amandita

4 Responses to “I’m Baaaaack!”

  1. P. Harper Dillon Says:

    Hey Amanda!!!

    Glad to see you back. The new pictures are great. You look incredibly healthy and vibrant (not just gym-work tight tummy and glutes healthy). Glad to hear that the language is becoming more like water and less like jello 🙂

    My trip to Lima with Dwight led to meeting up with many of my in-laws whom I haven’t seen in more than 20 years. It was nice, I really liked most of your mom’s aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. Especially Sara and her kids, also Olga Salazar and Mario. Everyone always asks about you. So I thought it would be helpful to translate your blog entries to Spanish and post them back here as comments. Then we could let your non-English speaking relatives know that they can follow the adventures of “Amanda in Africa” too! What d’ya think?

    Anyway, I translated the first part of the 1-12 post and up coming to put it up as a separate comment. Do you mind if I do this on a regular basis. Your English is somewhat challenging to translate so I like that too.

    Dad

  2. P. Harper Dillon Says:

    Traduccion Parcial al Castellano
    (asteriscos indican una nota clarificatoria al pie del parrafo)

    De veras no he atendido mucho a ésto* pero se debe tomar en el sentido de que “ninguna noticia es buena noticia”. En serio, he estado completamente ocupado durante el mes pasado. El mes de Diciembre simplemente se fue volando mientras que me mudaba a la casa de mi nueva familia anfitriona. Realicé mi primer viaje serio a Senegal para celebrar en año Nuevo en la caleta maravillosísima de San Luis. Podía nadar tanto que quería mi corazón.. Luego me encontré nuevamente en Nouakchott para ETR/IST** en donde podia comer tanto que quería (mi corazon) Creo que he probado por lo menos un tipo (diferente) de helados cada día. Mmmmmmm.
    *el blog*
    **Un programa de entrenamiento y actualizacion*

  3. amanda Says:

    hey dad,
    you translating my words into spanish would definitely be the coolest thing that has happened to my blog. i would love that, if you don’t mind. i’ll write more in a private email.
    lots and lots of love,
    amanda

  4. P. Harper Dillon Says:

    Segunda parte de la traduccion:

    En realidad me alegra estar nuevamente en Aleg*. Es divertido estar en otro sitio, pero estoy descubriendo que paso tanto tiempo o aún más con mis amigas Mauritanias como paso con los otros voluntarios.
    Hoy día volví definitivamente a la onda de las cosas. Me reuní con el direction de la “Condición Feminina de Aleg”* para para hablar acerca de los avances a un proyecto que preseentaré para financiamento en la próxima semana. El proyecto se deriva del Acto AGR**, propuesta por la Promoción Feminina de Mauritania. AGR se divide en actividades que generan ingresos para las mujeres en Mauritania. Tengo un buen presentimiento por [el proyecto] dado que el proyecto de peluquería que un voluntario del año 2005 todavía sigue prosperando. Éste es tambien un programa píloto del Cuerpo de Paz – es decir, todavía no han intentado otro proyecto parecido en el Mauritania – por lo menos, ninguno que ha sido documentado. De todos modos, seguiré escribiendo las nuevas, no obstante, despues de haberme reunido con Mauritanas acerca de él (el proyecto)***, estoy muy entusiasmada.
    He vuelto a casa para almorzar and tenía suerte, Arroz con Pescado, lo que se esta volviendose rapidamente uno de mis platos favoritos aquí. Mañana voy a la casa de mi vecino Mbourel para comerlo juntas, como ella me dice, si no lo he probado al estilo de Senegal, no he probado Arroz con Pescado.

    Despues del almuerzo y té andaba a la tienda copiadora de Zeinabou y me relajaba y la enseñaba inventariar con EXCEL. Acabo de inventariar todas las cosas en el GMC*, inclusive de todos los libros. Esta tan bien organizada y ordenado ahora. :=D Tambien he hecho libros de lecciones en Francés y Árabe para las clases de computacion que estaré dictando por lo menos tres veces a la semana para algunas de las mujeres mayores de Aleg

    Cuando Zeinabou salió de trabajo a las 6 p.m., me dijo que una amiga suya quería conocerme. (Dicen que le había conocido anteriormente y que ella se había interesado por la nasara*). Así fuimos a su casa, ella probablemente no tiene más de 16 años a lo máximo y tiene un bebe recien nacido. Me sentaba con ellas durante 5 minutos antes de que nos partimos. No obstante, durante este breve lapso, ella se decidio que yo le gustaba y quiere que vuelva para cenar y pasar el tiempo en el próximo fin de semana. Mauritanos!
    Visité la Casa Regional en camino a casa porque ví a David en la calle (él acaba de volver de sus vacaciones a casa (EEUU)) y corría una bola de que había traido un monton de quesos y azucar rubia para mi. Dijó que la familia Pulaar, la familia de Kelly Belly, iban a tener un agasajo esta noche.

    Fuimos y fue incredible. La celebración Pulaar, y las costumbres, y la cultura, son tan dulces. Antes de comer, las mujeres volteaban los tazones de hojalata y comenzaron a golpearlos a un compas que, al ser bailado, creó un explosión rítmico debajo de la casi llena luna. Yo también me levanté y bailaba a la tamboreada, el pulso de quien no podía acertar por ser musicalmente limitada. Ya he abandonado toda inhibición cuando se trata de parecerme tonto, dado que no he venido tanta distancia a Africa para no salir totalmente de mi propia piel [de lo acostumbrado], para decirlo así.

    Otra novedad que puedo relatar. Siento una diferencia en mi habilidad linguística. Comprendo por lo menos una parte de todas las conversaciones que encuento, y a veces, cada palabra y parte de la habla de algunos.

    Ahora tengo el internet en la GMC** SIIIIIIIIII. Ésto seguramente implica que escribiré (al blog) con mayor frecuencia. (Si Allah lo quiere)
    Y finalmente, sino probablemente de mayor importancia, Gracias tanto, tanto, tanto, por todo lo que se me han enviado, sea encomiendas, o cartas, o mensaje electrónicos, o aún mensajes rápidos a mi muralla (Facebook) o comentarios. El amor y el apoya nunca se vuelve Viejo y constantemente un apoyo adicional.
    Paz hacía todos,
    Xo amandita

Leave a Reply

